The American Association of University Women was founded in 1882 as the American Association of Collegiate Alumnae.  The name was changed to its present form in 1921.  The Elgin Area Branch was organized in 1920 with 40 charter members.

Our Mission Statement
AAUW advances equity for women and girls through advocacy, education, and research.

Our Vision Statement
AAUW will be a powerful advocate and visible leader in equity and education through research, philanthropy, and measurable change in critical areas impacting the lives of women and girls.

Our Diversity Statement
In principle and practice, AAUW values and seeks a diverse membership.  There shall be no barriers to full participation in this organization on the basis of gender, race, creed, age, sexual orientation, national origin or disability.

Membership is open to all graduates having associates or equivalent baccalaureate degrees from accredited colleges and universities. An undergraduate student enrolled in a regionally accredited educational institution shall be eligible for student affiliation.

Dues for 2018-2019:

$82.00 (branch-$13; state-$10; assoc.-$59)
$23.00 for life members (branch-$13; state-$10)
$27.00 for student affiliate (branch-$5; state-$5; assoc.-$17)

AAUW National Website
To find more information about the national organization of AAUW visit www.aauw.org.

AAUW Illinois Website
To find out more about the Illinois state organization of AAUW, visit: www.aauw-il.org.

Upcoming AAUW – IL Events

October 19, 2019  Fall Conference for AAUW-IL,   Location: ITT, Wheaton, IL

For more information go to aauw-il.aauw.net, click on newsletter and then Fall, 2019.
Reservations due by October 12.
If you are interested in going, contact Jeanne Hebeisen to arrange carpooling , 847-742-6264

Regional Conference – East Moline, IL   June 18-19,2020.
This will replace the National and State Conventions. 

Upcoming AAUW – National Events

Plans are underway for AAUW to celebrate in 2020 the 100th anniversary of women’s suffrage and all we have accomplished!